No Trespassing or Let’s Go Down This Rabbit Hole

Bridge Out

What do you do when you feel stuck?  What motivates you to continue doing whatever it is you do? How do you deal with road blocks? How do you handle distractions?   These are questions that continually pop up in my head for myself.  Some days I can handle these with no problem, other days I just shut down.

Feeling stuck is part of the process, I get that.  We all go through it and we all handle it differently.  There are many factors involved that can cause us to get to that I just can’t create anything, or anything worth putting out there place.  The internal, self-inflicted factors I can deal with.  It’s the out of our control and/or “we could actually change this situation but in reality we can’t” situations that make me crabby (just ask my hubby!)

For what seems like months I’ve been muddling through, not really getting out and shooting much and not really accomplishing much either.  Lord knows I have a huge backlog of images (don’t we all?) that I could be working on.  Why don’t I?  Maybe I should make that into little projects and blogs posts.  Will that help get me motivated to just finish one thing or part of one thing?

Do you ever write something down on a to do list just for the sole purpose of crossing it off?  I tied my shoes today, cross that off the list! Yay!!

Too much on my plate. Learning to say no. Helping people. Doing things that aren’t in line with your creative path.  These are all things that need to be addressed in my life and I’m guessing in yours as well.  I will address them but I think it’s a bit much for one blog post so consider this the first in what I’m hoping will help me and in turn help you get through, over, under, past some of these road blocks.  (At least I already have post #2 for this in the wings!!)

Putting this out there to you and perhaps the Universe – what are your thoughts? What do you do? Come on tell me in the comments!

What do you get out of this?  Hopefully something will resonate with you and you’ll have an AHA moment, or you’ll realize that you’re not alone in all this.  Why do we always think we’re the only one in the world going through something anyway?  Maybe you’ll find some inspiration in some of my words, one of my images or someone else’s comments here.  Is that enough?  For now?  I think so!

Let’s hear your stories and ideas!

and…stay tuned.

Thanks!!

Lauri

P.S.  I would love if you would post your comments public, unless you have your reasons for not I get that.  If they are public though then everyone can benefit from your insights as well!

Author: Lauri Novak Photography

I have been taking photos ever since I received my first Kodak X-15 Instamatic Camera at the age of 10. In grade school, my best friend's father was a photographer, we got to "play" with cameras and in the darkroom. With camera in hand I was fortunate growing up to have traveled around the US more than most at an early age. Traveling gave me an appreciation for the world around me. I started seeing in a different way, different perspective and appreciating what I saw. As I got older I had the opportunity to travel a little bit overseas which opened up my eyes to other cultures and even more ways of seeing the world. Capturing these views and perspectives on film at first and now digital and sharing them is my passion. I am finally pursuing this passion and as they say - if you love what you do and do what you love you'll never work a day in your life. I see the world in photographs and love that my photography helps others to see the world around them in a new and different way.

5 thoughts on “No Trespassing or Let’s Go Down This Rabbit Hole”

  1. I’ve been at Level 11 in the Arcanum since May. I just need to take 10 new images and complete a critique to level up. But … it seems the summer is almost over and I barely have 9 images to share with my master. To be fair, I had major project kick off in May that is only now nearing completion and I started an online course toward another industry certification (I’m in computer security) that I hope will help me land new work and I am the program manager for a local computer group and …. yeah. You get the point.

    Like

    1. Thanks for taking the time to read & comment Khurt!! Sounds like you have a lot going on, which I suspect is the underlying issue for many of us. Too much on our plates! But, we wouldn’t want it any other way would we? I am in Sphere 2 in The Arcanum it has taken me from May 15 – Level 22 until July 29 – Level 23 and waiting for my 1st critique in Sphere 2! I wasn’t out shooting. (Due to my Master’s travels it stretched it out a bit too but that just goes to show – we’re all busy!)

      Good luck with your certification and with your journey through the Arcanum as well! I look forward to seeing some of your images.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think if I focus on one thing at a time I may be able to make progress. I think juggling leaves me “scattered”. Looking forward to the next blog post. My cohort master, Bob Young suggested this blog post.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Quote: “Do you ever write something down on a to do list just for the sole purpose of crossing it off?”

    Ugh, that’s just so me. So everybody (in one way or another). Few would care to admit, or for that matter, be aware of it though, I guess. False victory it might give us, it sure helps. So doing it once in every, say, 12 months, seems like a good idea (perhaps).

    And the ever wise and true me (when it’s about somebody else) says: one thing at a time, and worry not about the outcome (and for sure it’s easier said than done).

    OK, no more rant, I’m going to my first bath for today. I’ve still got to cross that one off! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

