Why Do You Take Photos?

It’s a valid question, isn’t it? Especially in this day and age when everyone has a camera in their purse or pocket.

It’s a valid question, isn’t it?  Especially in this day and age when everyone has a camera in their purse or pocket.

Personally, I’ve been taking photos most of my life. It’s a passion.  Maybe it didn’t start out that way but over the years (probably early on) it developed into something I can’t not do!  It’s therapy, peace, my happy place, grounding, get my butt out of the house, contemplation, wonder, wander and a whole lot more to me.  The fact that I can share little bits of my world and the world around me isn’t always that important.  Sure, if I can take someone back to a place they grew up, vacationed at, or get someone to see the world around them in a different way, or if I can evoke some sort of emotions by sharing one of my images that’s a bonus.  Mostly, I photograph for me. (Yes, I do sell images as a way to share my passion, but that’s another post!)

Sand Harbor Tahoe Sunset_
Sand Harbor, Lake Tahoe Sunset
Sand Harbor Tahoe Rocks BW_
Sand Harbor, Lake Tahoe

Does this mean that every photo is going to be compositionally perfect, technically correct and worthy of putting out in the world?  No, of course not.  Sometimes images are just a recording of a moment in time, a memory to keep and possibly just because we thought it might be a good image.  We know that isn’t always the case when we get home and upload the images and think, “what the hell was I thinking when I shot that?”    Sometimes we go out shooting to learn new things and we come back with nothing suitable for anything but figuring out what we did wrong.  You know what?  That’s all ok!

Neither of these images from Sand Harbor at Lake Tahoe is perfect. I can see I’m going to have to go back and rework/fix the black and white image especially.  If I feel like it.  Depends on what I think I might do with it.  In the end, Lake Tahoe is and always will be a special and magical place for me.  So, if you like these images, great!  If not, it’s ok with me, they bring back memories, make me sigh and help me remember one of my favorite places on earth.

You’ve heard it a million times, art is subjective.  What I like and what you like are rarely going to be the same.

So, why do YOU take photos?  Tell me in the comments! I’d love to hear your stories.

Author: Lauri Novak Photography

https://www.laurinovak.com/about-lauri-novak-photography/

3 thoughts on “Why Do You Take Photos?”

  1. great pictures! I love that shade of purple . I take pictures to help me remember places! They say a picture speaks a thousand words but for me, it would be memories .I like looking at them and remembering where I was that point in time, what I was thinking, feeling, etc

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have been taking pictures as long as I can remember because I grew up around the world. I took them to remember, to share, to capture a moment in time, to be part of the world that surrounded me that most people did not have the opportunity to experience. I take pictures now because I enjoy it and I try to improve my photography in order to capture not only what can be seen but also what can be felt when someone looks at the picture.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

