Turtlenecks, Mittens and Long Underwear, Oh my!

It is becoming more real every day! 

20160604_112018.jpg

Why am I packing winter items in June (in the Northern Hemisphere)?  In just 6 days I’m flying off to Longyearbyen, Svalbard, Norway.  Holy Crap!!  Not only am I heading to the Arctic but it’s a Photography Symposium as well so take that holy crap and double or triple it!  Again, once in a lifetime.

Want to follow along?  Here is the route we’re taking.  I’m arriving in Longyearbyen a day and a half before we set sail, that gives me a bit of time to meet up with one of my mentors, Ron Clifford and do a little exploring of the town.  (Check out this 360 live cam I just found.)

Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 2.27.51 PM

Oh, did I mention it’s on board a ship that was used for scientific exploration?  I’m so excited to be able to go on the Spitsbergen Encounter voyage, traveling 9 nights and 10 days aboard the Akademik Sergey Vavilov with One Ocean Expeditions.  Check out their website for the full details on where we’re going and what we’ll be seeing!  They also offer many other expeditions!

I mostly have my gear together but will be going over the list again probably more than once in the next 6 days!  I have to give a shout out to an amazing photography friend for the loan of the 100-400mm lens!  Saves me a bit of cash!  Have my own 17-40mm and that’s it for lenses. Those two should cover the gamut of landscape and wildlife.  Did I mention polar bears?  EEK!

There is no wifi onboard the ship so for 10 days me and up to 92 other passengers will be focused on taking in the views, learning about the area and learning more about photography!   My goal is to do a journal to document the experience along with photos of course to share with you all when I return.  If you don’t want to miss this, be sure to follow me here on this blog and on social media!

Anything you’d like to know?  Questions about the area, the ship, the people?  Images you’d like to see?  Photography questions?  Leave me a note in the comments here and let me know or just leave me a bon voyage, have an amazing trip comment as those will be appreciated as well!!

P.S.  Wanna hear something cool (no pun intended)?  On my birthday we’ll be at 81° north latitude where Phippsoya is just 540 nautical miles from the North Pole!  Told you it was cool!

Author: Lauri Novak Photography

https://www.laurinovak.com/about-lauri-novak-photography/

10 thoughts on “Turtlenecks, Mittens and Long Underwear, Oh my!”

  1. At first I was worried about “just two lenses”, but then, no wifi? 93 people without internet? This sounds like a rehab trip ;))
    I bet it will be totally awesome, and I am a little bit jealous. Except for the cold, maybe 😉 At least you’ll have enough daylight.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ina – rehab for sure! Regroup, refresh, refocus, relax! Might actually get images from the trip processed within the same week of taking them! It won’t actually be crazy cold either 0C – I can handle that! Thanks!!

      Like

  2. So COOL!!!
    Make sure you get a selfie on your birthday with Ron! (And a polar bear too) Not asking too much right??
    Have a wonderful time. Bon Voyage! Cant wait to hear all about it when you return 🙂
    Cool 360 live cam!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A selfie, on the bridge showing our location! 🙂 With Ron – yeah. Hopefully going to do a couple of videos too for sharing when we get back. Might even finish my Sphere 3 whilst on the trip! Thanks so much Tanya always for your encouragement and support!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

