2017 B&W Project – 1 of 26

I’ve been part of a B&W Project on Google+ for the last several years.

I’ve been part of a B&W Project on Google+ for the last several years.  I also helped moderate the project, coming up with themes and making sure all who participated got some kudos for their ideas and images.  Check out the page on Google+ and you’ll find some really clever ideas and amazing images.

This year I stepped down to spend more time on my own projects and business.  I am not pressuring myself to participate but will when I have an image that works or am out shooting and can shoot for the theme.

The first theme this year is Past, Present & Future.  Here is my interpretation.

fairmont-hotel-chicago-light-circles-2017-lauri-novak
To purchase print click on image.

Embrace the light in your past.
Enjoy the light in the present.
Evoke the light in your future.

I took some time today to take a tour with Chicago Elevated of the Pedway. Margaret who is Chicago Elevated started the tour at the Fairmont Chicago. These lamps were up the ramp from the parking.  I thought they made for some interesting shapes, lines and shadows.

There are interesting things all around us if we only just look.  What do you see?

Author: Lauri Novak Photography

I have been taking photos ever since I received my first Kodak X-15 Instamatic Camera at the age of 10. In grade school, my best friend's father was a photographer, we got to "play" with cameras and in the darkroom. With camera in hand I was fortunate growing up to have traveled around the US more than most at an early age. Traveling gave me an appreciation for the world around me. I started seeing in a different way, different perspective and appreciating what I saw. As I got older I had the opportunity to travel a little bit overseas which opened up my eyes to other cultures and even more ways of seeing the world. Capturing these views and perspectives on film at first and now digital and sharing them is my passion. I am finally pursuing this passion and as they say - if you love what you do and do what you love you'll never work a day in your life. I see the world in photographs and love that my photography helps others to see the world around them in a new and different way.

6 thoughts on “2017 B&W Project – 1 of 26”

  1. Ooooooh this is beautiful!!! I’m so sad to hear you aren’t part of the black and white project anymore. 😦 Is G+ still pretty active? Lamps are an awesome subject, aren’t they? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Amanda. G+ is still my go to place, so many changes though have made it different and it will never be what it was for all of us photographers. That said, we are all mostly still there, still active, participating in the hunt, themes and mentorship programs! I had to take stock of my priorities for 2017 and I was (as usual) getting myself involved in way too many things. So I’ve stepped down and stepped back to focus on my own work, going with the flow of what I do and what I want, that seems to work best for me. I am actually participating in the B&W project though! Hopefully all 26 this year!

      These lamps were so cool – I’m sure I’ll go back again!!

      Like

      1. I think it’s great that you are working on your own projects and priorities! Your photography absolutely blows my mind (as usual)! And the trips you get to take….swoooooooon!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

