Prints for Purchase & Other things!

Which framing option do you prefer?

I recently took a group of the Drink & Click Chicago Chapter to the Lincoln Park Conservatory and Zoo. 

If you’ve read about Drink & Click in a past post you know there are monthly themes, January was macro.  The conservatory offered up some really cool and unique subjects but that will be another “Short Story” post.  I’ve decided that in between my Story Telling posts I will be putting up some Short Stories.  The short stories will be quick, easy, shorter (mostly) posts about specific things that come up in the course of my life.  I already have a list of drafts for both short and long that could keep me busy for a month or so!

Prints & Other Things for Purchase

No, I’m not going to get all selly sell sell here.  I don’t like to push people to buy my work – even though it is a necessary evil at times from a business stand point.  What I’d rather do is put my work out there, talk about it once in awhile, show you some things from time to time and just get me, my story and my work out there.

Today after posting the second image in a series of two (is 2 a series?) some discussion came up about how it would look hanging.  Someone had interest in buying.  How should it be presented, framed, metal, matted, colors of frames and matts?  So, instead of just talking about it I thought I’d show you.

First, here are the two images.  They were taken at the Kovler Lion House at Lincoln Park Zoo.  These little birds were flitting in and out of the cage.

jail-birds-2017-lauri-novak
Jail Birds
hanging-in-the-balance-2017-lauri-novak
Hanging in the Balance

I sell my work in a few places but the two main places are my website (of course) and Fine Art America.  I actually prefer to sell directly when possible so I can discuss options for printing, framing, size and anything else that makes it a more personalized experience!

With that said, on Fine Art America you can actually choose the different ways of framing by choosing them.  So I thought it would be fun to show you a few different ways with the Jail Bird image.

white-matt-black-frame
Black Frame – White Mat
screen-shot-2017-02-01-at-3-41-51-pm
White Frame – Black Mat
white-matt-gunmetal-frame
Gun Metal Frame – White Mat
white-matt-pink-frame
Pink Frame – White Mat
white-matte-red-frame
Red Frame – White Mat
yellow-matt-black-frame
Black Frame – Yellow Mat
metal-print
Metal Print

I thought the colors were sort of fun, modern and even more graphic looking.

Another option on Fine Art America are the things you can get the image printed on!

shower-curtain
Shower Curtain
pillow
Pillow
mug
Mug

So?  What do you think?  Which ones do you like? Do you like a frame?  No frame?   If you really really like one of the image click on it and you can purchase it!  You’ll have to customize it the way you want it (it doesn’t save the options I’ve posted here.) Easy!

I’d love to know which framing option you prefer and why.  Let me know in the comments here.

Speaking of selling prints, stay tuned for an inventory sale that is in the works!

Author: Lauri Novak Photography

I have been taking photos ever since I received my first Kodak X-15 Instamatic Camera at the age of 10. In grade school, my best friend's father was a photographer, we got to "play" with cameras and in the darkroom. With camera in hand I was fortunate growing up to have traveled around the US more than most at an early age. Traveling gave me an appreciation for the world around me. I started seeing in a different way, different perspective and appreciating what I saw. As I got older I had the opportunity to travel a little bit overseas which opened up my eyes to other cultures and even more ways of seeing the world. Capturing these views and perspectives on film at first and now digital and sharing them is my passion. I am finally pursuing this passion and as they say - if you love what you do and do what you love you'll never work a day in your life. I see the world in photographs and love that my photography helps others to see the world around them in a new and different way.

2 thoughts on “Prints for Purchase & Other things!”

Leave a Reply

