Leaving the Camera Behind (again!)

The Palmer House Hilton – A Historic Hotel in Chicago

The last couple of days I was downtown Chicago for work. I stayed at the Palmer House Hilton for the first time.  I’ve been inside the lobby area and the street level elevator area but that’s it. I always knew it was gorgeous, has a wonderful history and that at some point I wanted to take the time to shoot there. This was not that time. 

I knew I would not have any time to use my “real” camera so I had some fun when I had a few moments in my room, waiting for the elevator or walking from one place to the next, with my phone.  These are not the greatest images, my phone does not like low light much. I will make a special trip just to wander and take proper images next time!

You can find a little bit of the history of the hotel here.

palmer-house-hilton-phone-pics-2017-lauri-novak-7

The funny thing is, about 2 weeks ago someone posted an image or story about these Peacock Doors. I commented that I had never seen them, where were they and made a note to check them out someday.  As I entered the hotel at the Monroe Street entrance there they were!  The story of the doors.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There are so many details, so much art, so much to see.  If you go, take some extra time to just wander and wonder at the past, who walked through these halls, who performed here, who stayed here and be sure to take in the beauty of it all.

palmer-house-hilton-phone-pics-2017-lauri-novak-7-5
The view from my open (ever so slightly) window.

The first thing I do no matter where I’m staying is look at the view from the window.

palmer-house-hilton-phone-pics-2017-lauri-novak-7-4
View from the room.
palmer-house-hilton-phone-pics-2017-lauri-novak-7-8
Eclectic and artistic
palmer-house-hilton-phone-pics-2017-lauri-novak-7-7
Something different! (processed as 1/2 B&W and 1/2 color)
palmer-house-hilton-phone-pics-2017-lauri-novak-7-6
Looking down from the window, and yes, I was a little freaked out I’d drop my phone!

Another thing I like to do in hotels – especially when there are really long hallways.

palmer-house-hilton-phone-pics-2017-lauri-novak-7-9

Starting and ending this post with Peacocks.  If any of you reading this know or have followed me on social media for quite awhile you’ll get the double meaning of the peacock theme!

So, once again I did not let not having my camera stop me from shooting, exploring and in this case let’s just call it a scouting trip!

I hope you take some time to check out the links to read a bit more about the Palmer House and CD Peacock Jewelers to learn about the rich history of this iconic hotel in Chicago.  Better yet, come and see it for yourself!  If you’ve already been let me know what you loved the most about it in the comments.

Author: Lauri Novak Photography

https://www.laurinovak.com/about-lauri-novak-photography/

2 thoughts on “Leaving the Camera Behind (again!)”

  1. Hi Lauri,

    What a fabulous place, and camera or not you’ve got some lovely images there. This is one reason I love my little Sony so much, small enough to go everywhere with me in my pocket, big enough in performance to turn in results I like 95% of the time 🙂

    Cheers
    Chris

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Chris. Wasn’t so much the size/lugging the DSLR as I knew I wouldn’t have the time to really stop, compose and shoot. Eventually, maybe I’ll get a smaller camera for times like this – or well, my hubby is getting a Lumix DMC-ZS60 which will become my throw in my bag/pocket camera!

      Like

Leave a Reply

